Special Gift from the Heart

A few years back I decided I wanted to give my brothers, nieces and nephews and son special gifts.  For me the best part of it was I kept it a secret from everyone and the closer it got to Christmas day the more excited I became.

I spent some time searching for old photos and because they were old they were also black and whites.  So I carefully looked through stacks, memories attached to many and found the ones I thought would mean the most to my family.  For example, I can remember when my brother who is 2 years older then me got his 1965 Mustang.  Every weekend he would wash, wax, clean the carpets, shine the tires, etc. etc. etc.  So I found a pic of him sitting on this mustang with his Beatle haircut.  That pic whent to my niece, his daughter.  For my nephew I found a pic of his Dad in his Little league uniform.  For my son, I found a pic of my hubby when he was 4 or 5 sitting in his dad’s boat.

I put each black and white pic in a pewter frame, wrapped each in colored tissue and attached a git tag made out of colored paper that I made myself.  One side of the tag was the To/From.  On the other side of the tag I wrote a story and dated it.

When Christmas morning came and everyone opened their gifts it was a gift for me as well – it made me feel so good and everyone loved their stories and pics.  Now the tag with the story is in the back of each picture.  I think of our future generations who will have these pics and stories and it just puts a smile on my face and warmth in my heart.  Below is the gift I gave my son…

Leave a Reply

