Meet Vinegar, My New Cleaner of Choice

My friend from highschool E.E. just posted this link on her Facebook.  It’s info on the 1001 uses for white distilled vinegar.  I was amazed that vinegar can be used for cleaning, laundry, health, in the garden, automotive, pets and cooking.  Of course I asked E.E. if I could post this useful information on my blog and she said YES!  Thank you!

I’ve used vinegar in milk to make buttermilk, put it in chili to reduce the risk of “fluffing”, and used it to clean my hardwood floors.  But never before have I used it the other 998 ways.  Not only am I sharing the link I am also citing some of the uses I find most inventive.

http://www.vinegartips.com/Scripts/pageViewSec.asp?id=7

To clean tarnished brass, copper, and pewter, use a paste with equal amounts of white distilled vinegar and table salt.
Eliminate manufacturing chemicals from new clothes by adding 1/2 cup white distilled vinegar to the water.
Sanitize outdoor furniture and picnic tables with a cloth soaked in white distilled vinegar.
Kill slugs by spraying them with a mixture of 1 part water and 1 part white distilled vinegar.
To catch moths use a mixture of 2 parts white distilled vinegar and 1 part molasses. Place mixture in tin can and hang in a tree
Remove soap scum and clean the hoses of your washing machine with white distilled vinegar. Periodically run the machine with only a cup of white distilled vinegar in it—nothing else added to the wash cycle

Enjoy – Let me know what you are going to use vinegar for!                                                      Lattenene

3 responses to “Meet Vinegar, My New Cleaner of Choice

  1. We have the hardes water in the world over here which creates a white film on outdoor windows. The only thing that will remove it is straight vinegar.

    Try putting a tablespoon in your simmering water when making poached eggs. Your eggs will not break apart and will look very tasty to eat.

    Put vinegar in your bath water to soothe an itchy sunburn.

Leave a Reply

