Monday Magazine Review -Lease a Dairy Cow or Arrange Flowers!

Coffee 007

Happy Monday!  I’m introducing something new on my blog and I’m calling it Magazine Monday Review.  A few months back I came clean and admitted to everyone that I am a magazine hoarder.  I love browsing through them and I am constantly saying “Oh, that’s a great idea” or “I have to remember that.” Yes, I do rip lots out and keep a file and periodically go through them. 

I decided to start Magazine Monday for two reasons.  I’ll have to go through all my magazines (including the ones hidden in the closet!) and second I’ll be able to share great and interesting tidbits with you.  That said, it could be a review of a magazine, new or old.  I’m not sure yet how I will relay this information to you(write about it, take pictures of it, test it, link it, etc.).    I’m going to play it by ear and you’ll have to tell me what is working for you.

Also, feel free to share a magazine with me and I will share with everyone. 🙂  Here we go….

First up, Family Circle magazine.  I have the magazine in hand.  You can also find at //www.familycircle.com/.  I am sharing fun and interesting info from the May, 2011 issue.  In this review:

  • How to lease your own dairy cow
  • Pretty flower arrangements 

How To Lease Your Own Dairy Cow – Did you know that for $60.00 a year at RentMotherNature you can lease your very own Jersey dairy cow?  According to the article you will receive progress reports such as how long they were outside each day.  After milking, then processing you’ll receive Brie or cheddar cheese in 8 oz. wheels. Check out the link as you can also lease peach trees, bees for honey and Pistachio trees.  What will they think of next?

I tried to pull off pics from the internet of Pretty Flower Arrangements, but you have to subscribe online to read it online. Since I have the magazine I just took pictures of the pages instead.  Look at these fabulous colors and fabulous flowers.  Please let the sunshine soon!  I want to see some of these bloom in my yard!

Fam Circle Flowers 004  Fam Circle Flowers 003

The vase of flowers on the left hydrangeas with white lilacs.  Gorgeous, don’t you think.  The house I grew up in and the house next to us were about 150 feet from the main road. Our two driveways were split by a 150 foot row of lilacs.  Every spring I thought I was in heaven, it smelled so wonderful.  All different colors of lilacs, white, lavender, pink, dark purple.  For this bouquet you’ll need to have a wide mouth type container to put them in.  Cut the stems of the lilacs different heights to fill in the gaps from the hydrangeas.

The vase on the right is made up of pink peonies, my personal favorite and green viburnum.  I have 6 peony plants in my back yard and cannot wait for them to bloom.  Since I live in the Northwest when they do bloom I will pray for no rain.  Peonies are such pretty flowers.  Reading the article in FC I learned that you split the stems a couple of inches up the middle which helps with the water absorbing.  The blooms are really heavy so find your vase that has the smallest mouth so the peony stems stand up nice and straight.  Fill in with those pretty green viburnum.

Fam Circle Flowers 005 Fam Circle Flowers 009

On the left is another one of my favorites, lilies.  To get this clustered affect cut the stems really short.  The other pinky fluffy stuff is astilbe.  I love to open the doors and windows when the lilies bloom.  Their smell floats through the house. 

Okay, even before I talk about the flowers I am in love with the vase on the right.  It’s shape is so unique.  Choosing different kinds of flowers in the same colors and shades are always guaranteed to be a bouquet winner.  This one shown in the FC magazine is made up of ranunculus and snapdragons. 

A few additional tips for flower bouquets from FC: any leave below the water line should be removed, room temperature water is the best, and a finished bouquet should be approximately 1 1/2 times your vase height.

Oh, just a couple of random things before I sign off.  My son will be home from college in a week (excited) and my husband is in love with Lady Gaga!

latte Lattenene

Leave a Reply

