Front Porch Update

My front porch was so boring I decided I needed to add some zing.  That was last Sunday morning and by late afternoon I think it had a much improved look.

BEFORE ….

June 5 Blog Pics 053

June 5 Blog Pics 054

AFTER…

June 5 Blog Pics 058

June 5 Blog Pics 072

Let’s take a closer look the the plant stand/3 tier rack.  This was originally a funky little greenhouse I had bought at a drug store at least 3 years ago.  It had an additional top tier with rounded bars and it was enclosed by zipped up plastic. It never worked, the plastic ripped and it’s been sitting on the side of my house with planter pots sitting on it forever.  I threw the top pieces out. Here’s the way it looked when the day started..

June 5 Blog Pics 049

Ugly green and rusted.  I used Simple Green to wash it, wiped it down, then applied Rust Oleum’s white primer. I will admit I took the easy way out.  I didn’t take it apart.

June 5 Blog Pics 057 

It was quick to dry and I applied Rust Oleum’s flat black followed with a clear protect spray.

June 5 Blog Pics 069 

I also still need to fine tune what to put on the bottom shelves.  But let me tell you about the 2 green planters.  They were originally the terra cotter color and there plastic.  Again, Rust Oleum to the rescue.  I primed the pots, then spray painted them with the apple green color.  Final touch was to add a variety of herbs.  Here’s a closer look.

June 5 Blog Pics 067 June 5 Blog Pics 068

I wanted a rug, but could not find the right size one so I came up with a solution.  I purchased 2 door mats from Pier 1 and used rug tape to hold them together.  I love the bright stripes.  I need to get one more for the front door.

June 5 Blog Pics 061

Table and birdhouse from Tuesday Morning and I planted a fuchsia in a pot I already had plus one of my welcome signs and two matching pots at the front walkway and a hydrangea in the corner that I’ve not planted yet.

June 5 Blog Pics 071 June 5 Blog Pics 063 June 5 Blog Pics 070

June 5 Blog Pics 059 June 5 Blog Pics 060

June 5 Blog Pics 065

which brings us back to a front porch updated look for minimal money.  I took the time to look around my house to see what I already had:

  • Bench + cushion and pillows
  • Pots
  • Plant shelf
  • Front door sign
  • Hydrangea
  • Rust Oleum spray paint

Purchases:

  • Plants – $25.00
  • Birdhouse – $15.00
  • Door Mats – $30.00

Total cost for porch update $70.00.  Not bad for a close to home evening escape! 🙂

June 5 Blog Pics 072 June 5 Blog Pics 058

Have you redone an area lately? 

latte Lattenene

3 responses to “Front Porch Update

  1. Great job. Love a good redo. I am doing a facelift on the shop I work at. You will be invited to our open house.

  2. Michele Somerville Burgoyne

    How cute! I love it! I’m getting ready to extend my front porch (take out the tree by the dining room window and transplant it; pour more aggregate and then put in a small “fence like” divider by the walkway). Get some cute wicker or whatever, add some cushions —– and we’ll have a nice place to relax in the front outside. You’ve given me inspiration!

  3. It looks fabulous! You must be so excited to have such a pretty space now! I can’t wait to get mine done, better get out there now and get started!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

