Same Picture – Frame Color Redo

I have this really great print.  It’s a limited edition by a Washington artist named Violet Skiles.  it was a present from my mother-in-law over 20 years ago.  It’s been in my son’s bathroom for the last 10 and I’ve always said “I need to do something with that frame.

002 Have paint spray will travel and it’s traveling through my house!  For this project I used Rust Oleum Primer and Apple Red Gloss.

003 I probably should of sanded the wood first, but didn’t.  And I put 2 coats of red on, was a little impatient waiting for it to dry, and it bubbled a bit.  So…..since I’m making my own rules and really don’t know what I’m doing, I took some sandpaper and did a little distressing.  Then I took a gold painters pen and accented the frame by highlighting the grooves.  Finishing touch was a gloss spray to seal it.

Lesson to self:  Do not ever again force a piece of glass back into a picture frame.  It will break.  I’m lucky I had an extra piece of glass hanging around.

I actually think it turned out pretty good and I’m happy with the end result.  What do you think? (ignore the reflection….sorry, bad photo day)

012 How about a side by side for a true comparison?

002 012

I’m linking this post to Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps On The Porch

 

 

Yep, I like it! 

latte Lattenene

4 responses to “Same Picture – Frame Color Redo

  1. It looks lovely! Nice transformation indeed!
    Hope to see you on my blog:)

  2. Thank you so much. Would love t0 see your blog, but url not available

  3. It’s amazing! The red frame makes the colors in the picture so much brighter! Thanks for sharing….and giving me ideas!

  4. Thanks Dona. I an’t tell you how long I have been cleaning that bathroom and looking at that frame and saying it needed to be red. Finally!

Leave a Reply

