Blueberry Banana Bread

Big shout out to Natalie @ Designer Bags and Dirty Diapers because the recipe I’m sharing today is one she featured on her blog several months ago.  And speaking of blogs, be sure to check out the pics of Natalie’s little guy. ADORABLE!  I miss those days.

According to Natalie, this Blueberry Banana Bread recipe is low calorie and we all like that.  She says “each loaf makes 16 servings and each serving (a slice) only has 2 grams of fat and 183 calories”. 

The cast of characters separated by dry and liquid ingredients.

102 104

One addendum however.  I did not have any buttermilk.  If you run into this problem, just stir 1 tablespoon of vinegar into 1 cup of milk and wait 5 minutes.  Just toss out what you don’t need. 103

The instructions are pretty simple; mix the dry ingredients together, mix the liquid ingredients together, mix everything together, add the blueberries.  Bake, add a glaze when partially cool.  I totally agree with Natalie and added a lot more blueberries than the recipe called for. 

I also have found that my oven bakes banana bread better in a bundt pan than a loaf pan.  It just seems to cook more evenly.  If you have problems, consider trying this.

Without further blah, blah, blah, here’s the bread.  Doesn’t it look yummy?  It’s fruit smackin good.  In fact, I want to use this recipe to make blueberry muffins.

113

Here’s some pics of the bread all sliced up and served on the Glass Dessert Stand I made for my sis-in-law.

120-1

122-1 121-1

Here’s the recipe…

Blueberry Banana Bread

2 ½ cups flour

1 cup sugar

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 ½ cups mashed bananas

¼ cup buttermilk

2 Tbsp canola oil

2 large egg whites

1 large egg

1 tsp grated lemon zest

1 cup blueberries

Glaze

½ cup powdered sugar

2 tsp lemon juice

½ tsp grated lemon zest

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl combine the bananas and *buttermilk, lemon juice, canola oil, eggs and egg white, and lemon zest. Stir flour into the liquid mixture. Stir in *blueberries.

Pour batter into *9x5x3 inch loaf pan that has been coated with baking spray. Bake one hour. Cool 15 minutes, turn onto rack and add glaze.

*Changes I made

I did not have buttermilk and made my own. Mix 1 Tbsp vinegar with 1 cup milk and let sit for 5 minutes. Throw away what you don’t need

I used 2 cups of blueberries and it wasn’t too much. In fact, I think this recipe would make great blueberry muffins!

I always bake my banana bread in a Bundt pan. It just seems to cook better

Hope you enjoy and happy Saturday and happy 3 day weekend!

latte-1 Lattenene

Leave a Reply

