Spare Room Project – Tommy Bahama Inspiration

Around five years ago the extra room in my house had a day bed and trundle.  I can’t even remember why I decided to sell it.  I know I wanted to do a change-up, but can’t remember to what.  Over the years I’ve wanted the room to be used as a craft room, guest room, my office, a reading room…..get the picture?  I haven’t been able to make up my mind so I’ve always made completing this project my last priority.  I wanted it black and white, all white, blue, green, tan and brown….get the picture?

I’m challenging myself to finally do something.  I’ve given  myself a set of rules I need to abide by.

  1. Use items already in my house;  Move, repurpose furniture, be creative.
  2. It has to provide bedding where at least one person could sleep.
  3. Must be functional.  I need to comfortably be able to craft and read.
  4. Divot needs to have a place to sit by the window and look outside.
  5. Get out of my green comfort zone.
  6. Spend minimal dollars.

Looking at the color wheel below, I’ve decided to focus on the Yellow to Blue-Green colors and shades of them.  For more information, see my post on color wheels here.

ColorWheel1 I arrived at these color choices through the process of washing and ironing.  Yep, you heard that right.  I was doing laundry and saw my hubby’s Tommy Bahama shirt and the rest is history.

Shirt on Door

I love the blend of yellow, white and aqua.  it might be hard to see, but there’s also some light stripes of a soft moss green and black also.  Lot’s of options!

I’ll be sharing with you over the next couple of weeks my transformation journey.

I’m curious, what inspires your color choices?

latte Lattenene

Leave a Reply

