31 Days To Clutter Free / Day 12 – Organizing by Notebook

Welcome to Day 12 of the 31 Day Challenge.  Time is just zooming by.  I’m feeling a bit less cluttered, how about you?  I’ve gotten rid of a stack of magazines, taken a bag of clothes to the Goodwill and shredded a grocery bag’s worth of documents.  I’ve still got tons to do.  It never goes fast enough.  Something called LIFE gets in the way but remember,  one day at a time, a little each day is okay.

Today I wanted to provide a few thoughts on what to do with extra papers that always seem to be there.  A story for you…  last night hubby and I were sitting in the family room.  Staring at our current window treatments, I said out loud, “I wonder what wood slatted blinds would look like.  I already have the measurements”.  My hubby replied, “you don’t have the measurements”.  “Yes I do” said I.  “Prove it” he said.  So….I walked into  the den and pulled a large notebook off the shelf.  The notebook was divided by room name (bedroom, bath, windows, etc) And there at the window tab I found the blind or curtain measurements for every window, done by a professional, ten years ago.  My book also contained fabric swatches for furniture and curtains, paint colors, rug colors, pictures of rooms, room dimensions, tile samples and on and on.  The point is all of this stuff if just laying around the  house or stacked in a corner could be perceived as clutter.  Instead, it is organized information and it’s great to have when shopping!

Other notebooks I currently have:

  • I keep warranties and manuals etc. for items in notebooks associated with the area and type.  Examples: I have a notebook in the laundry room with washer, dryer, vacuum cleaner, iron information.  A notebook in the garage for the lawn mower, leaf blower, lawn furniture.  Kitchen: dishwasher, refrigerator, electric fry pan, etc.  This really helps us in the long run and is something you might find useful.
  • Magazine articles – I have a couple books divided into sections and actually file them.  Then I go through them once a month
  • Addresses, menus, business card – I have one notebook on a kitchen shelf that I put all that information.  I created the address forms and section headers myself and would be happy to share.

Have a good day.  TTYL,

latte Lattenene

Leave a Reply

