Emergency Room Visit

Hi All –

Ever have one of those Saturdays where you wake up and just know it’s a day that you’re going to get lots done and then BAM!  Something happens? That was yesterday for me.

It was a cold but nice Saturday morning.  It snowed a small bit on Friday night and then froze .  Hubby and I decided to take Divot for a walk to the neighborhood espresso stand and get Dirty Chai Teas.  The sidewalks were a bit slippery but we were careful.  Then we crossed the parking lot and my foot hit the ground, I slipped and couldn’t move.  My left arm was full of pain.  Hubby got me to the sidewalk but I couldn’t go ant further.  He went home and got the car.

Long story short, I ended up in the Emergency room for 7 hours.  The x-rays showed part of my wrist bone had literally broken off and was now sitting just to the left of the rest of the bone and they needed to put it back.   They had to give me Profotol.  You know?  That’s the drug Michael Jackson took.  Anyway, I was given enough, based on my weight, to put me out for approximately 10 minutes.  The Doctor needed that much time to place the piece of bone back in position and put a splint on my arm.  I have to say, it was really weird when I woke up.  I guess I was only out for those 10 minutes but when I woke up I felt like I had slept for 8 hours and I felt so refreshed.  Like I said, really weird.

The cat scan and additional x-rays show some of the fragmented bone is still floating around and I have multiple fractures from my wrist to my elbow.  I have to see an orthopedic surgeon as I will need to have pins or a plate put in.  My hubby is so great.  I can’t even open a pill bottle…..I am so pitiful.

 I am so bummed.  I’m in the middle of making crafts and my most favorite thing to do this time of year is decorate.  😦  I had big plans to share so much with you.  That said, I will be improvising by sharing articles and info I find and the posts will be fewer.  I hope you don’t mind.

Hope everyone is getting ready for the big turkey day this week.  I have some info on folding napkins for you tomorrow. 

TTYL,

latte Lattenene

Technorati Tags:
7 responses to “Emergency Room Visit

  1. Lattenene, just wanted you to know I will be praying for you and your complete healing. I broke my wrist 3 yrs. ago & had to be in a cast. You talk about patience! I am fairly new to your blog; but enjoy it . Looking forward to your return. You just take cafre of yourself & know God is with you.

  2. OMG I am so sorry..please take care of yoouself, so glad your hubby was with you..Hugs!

  3. OPPS I mean yourself!

  4. Please feel better soon! Take it easy. Don’t push too hard. Blessings~

Leave a Reply

