Beef On A Hoagie

New Years Day was pretty much a sit-around day for us; no self-set expectations or chores.  I stalked the recipes cooked  by Ree @ Pioneer Woman and found one she called Basic Drip Beef.  I changed it up a tiny bit mostly the seasonings and I cooked it in the crockpot instead of in a big pot on the stove.

Here’s the ingredients as Ree shared them:

  • 1 whole 2.5 to 4 pound chuck roast
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 whole large onion, sliced thick
  • 3 cloves peeled garlic
  • 1/2 cup Soy sauce
  • 1 cup Sherry (cooking sherry ok)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 cups water
  • Deli rolls, toasted and buttered
  • Optional: Rosemary, thyme or other spices

Roast Beef Sandwich 001

I sliced the onions a bit smaller since my son is not an onion lover and since somehow my cupboard was bare of any thyme and rosemary, I used some steak seasoning and Lawrys salt. In the picture you’ll see some crushed red pepper flakes but I decided against it.

Saute the onion and garlic in a pan with butter until soft.  Toss in the crockpot and place the chuck roast on top of the onions.  I used two smaller roasts to get to the 4 pound mark. Add all other ingredients.  I cooked for about 4 hours on high and 2 hours on low.

Roast Beef Sandwich 002 Roast Beef Sandwich 003

Use two forks and break down the roasts until meat is shredded.  Toast some hoagie rolls.  Place meat and provolone cheese on roll and broil until melted.  I also added some sautéed mushrooms leftover from New Years Eve steak dinner.

Roast Beef Sandwich 004 Roast Beef Sandwich 006

You can serve with a bit of the juice for dunking.  It needs a bit of stirring, sorry.  But regardless, it was delicious and I will definitely make again.  Thanks Ree!

Roast Beef Sandwich 007

What kind of homey food have you made lately?

Renee`

Linking up to Home Stories A2Z @ http://www.homestoriesatoz.com/2012/01/tutorials-tips-link-party-41.html

4 responses to “Beef On A Hoagie

  1. That looks so tasty! My husband would love this one, for sure. 🙂 Visiting from Home Stories A to Z. Hope you’ll stop by my blog to say hi too. 🙂

    • Hi Amanda – thanks for visiting my blog. I’m a silent frequent flyer of Serenity Now. I guess I will have to be a bit louder. 🙂 Hope your hubby enjoys the sandwich!
      -renee

  2. Sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

