Mantle Winter Spice-Up

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.  I had what you would call a bitter and sweet one.  My son left Saturday morning back to school.  He’s been home for a month and now he’s 3500 miles away.  I’m so glad there’s Skype and text messaging.  The sweet part is my niece got married Saturday night in a beautifull and intimate small friends and family wedding.  She was beaming and I loved every minute of it and wish her and her new hubby a lifetime of happiness.

I packed away all the Christmas decor right after the new year.  It was looking pretty bland on the fireplace mantle after spicing it up for Fall, and Christmas.  I threw some stuff up there but was not satisfied (see the before pics below).  Somehow the orange candles weren’t cutting it for a winter decor.   I just wanted to stay in my sweats and not shower today which meant I needed to find stuff in my house.  And I wanted to keep it simple.

I had some vases I spray painted gold for Christmas decorating so I re-sprayed them a metallic gray.  To fill them I had some greenery stashed away and the branches from our gulley that I had sprayed for Christmas.  I also had the black wood candle sticks but I only had orange candles from the autumn decorating.  I used scrapbook paper I had on hand and just wrapped the candles.  I don’t normally burn these because there so close to the TV and if I can, the paper can easily be taken off.

Before I share the before and after pictures just one more thing.  The downfall of having your TV on the wall above the fireplace is the cords show from the speakers.  If I had some black straws on hand I would of used them to wrap the white cord.  Genius, right?  Okay, here are the pics.

Winter Mantle - before

Winter Mantle - after

Winter Mantle - left 2 Winter Mantle - after right

Have you changed your mantle up lately?

Look for tomorrows post.  I’ll be sharing a new Organization series I’ll be kicking off this week.

Organizing 3 Button-1 

Sharing this post with the following linky parties.  Be sure and check them out.

Motivated Monday, Between Naps On the Porch

-renee`

3 responses to “Mantle Winter Spice-Up

  1. Thos polka dot candles are adorable!
    A few blogger friends and I are collectively introducing a January challenge and it would be so fun if you want to participate. If you have a second, check it out at http://thespacebetweenblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/imagine-the-impossibilities-challenge/.
    Karah @ thespacebetweenblog

    • Karah – I apologize I never got back to you. I would of failed the challenge! What a great idea it was. I’ve been checking a few of the blogs out that accomplished it. Way to go!

  2. No I haven’t. I put the Christmas away but mine looks totally under dressed now. I like the grey and white polka dot candles – definitely good for right now.
    Pam
    Thanks for linking up to Motivated Monday at BeColorful
    Pam

Leave a Reply

