Organize X 3 – Decorated Cardboard Storage

Welcome to the first article for my new once a week series, Organize X 3!

Organize 3 Series Button

This series will post to Lattnenes Cup of Chat and I am planning to share 3 items on organizing tips every Wednesday.  Today I thought I would focus on creating desk storage on the cheap and cute, may I add.

023-2

The 3 tips aka items to use and I guarantee will become your best friend are colored duct tape, spray paint and clips.  Here we go…lets talk about the numbered items in this picture.

023-1

I.  Magazine holders, not too sure about the technical term so sorry.  I had this ugly cardboard one so I used 3 different types of duct tape to cover; black, black and white checked and turquoise.

002-1 033-1

Pretty amazing, right?  I  also have 6 brown wicker type magazine holders and I spray painted one with Rust Oleum’s Black gloss.  It turned out great.  I’ll be in the garage spray painting 5 others soon.

035-1 030-1

2.  I found this pen/pencil holder in a box of old stationary supplies and decided it needed some ramping up so duct tape to the rescue.

002-2 017-1

3.  This is my favorite.  I had a bunch of cardboard lids from boxes and they were the perfect size for file trays.  I used two different colors of duct tape.

036-1 028

You can pretty much make anything look good with a little bit of time, spray paint and duct tape. Here’s a few more pics.

026-1 025-1

013-1

I haven’t tagged my new storage pieces yet, but when I do I’ll tag them the same way I did the containers in my Linen Closet.  In stead of using stickers that stick I made mine from heavy cardstock and used clips to attach. This will give some flexibility to change your mind if you choose.  This is from my 31 day clutter series.  I used cardboard boxes here covered with contact paper and trimmed in duct tape.

IMAG0958

There you have it.  Do you use duct tape and spray paint to create storage pieces?

-renee

I’m joining the following linky parties…

Tip Junkie, Home Stories A2Z,

2 responses to “Organize X 3 – Decorated Cardboard Storage

  1. Renee – this is awesome. I saw colored duct tape the other day; but wondered if spending $3 for one roll would be cost efficient for recovering certain boxes…. like a boot box for my bf’s paperwork that he does not want me to throw out…. so who’s the hoarder? LOL

  2. Love these ideas! I haven’t used duct tape for this type of thing yet, but I’m collecting my colors for my craft room! My colors are black and white (like you!) with pops of purple and turquoise. I found a print tape that has all those colors..except the black! Keep the ideas a-comin’!!

Leave a Reply

