My 2012 Word – CELEBRATE

Layla over at The Lettered Cottage is having a 2012 word of the year link party.  I’m thinking this is fate she’s having the party today, on January 16.  Because today my Daddy is 102 years old.  Although he’s not here with me I know there’s a big party happening in Heaven right now.  Fittingly, my word for 2012 is CELEBRATE. 

Balloons-1

My Dad passed away in June, 1991 at the age of 81.  He died while having open heart surgery.  My son was born in July the same year.  I was so angry at him for leaving before baby boy was born and then something happened.  I remember it like it was yesterday.  Baby was blessed at 5 weeks and I put a picture in a key chain for my mom.  Several weeks later my mom came to the house upset because the picture had fallen out of the plastic casing.  Simple fix, I put a new pic in.  That weekend it rained cats and dogs.  My mom went to the cemetery on Monday, like she did most every day.  I hadn’t been.  I couldn’t, I was so mad.  So, my dad’s grave is open to the sky.  It didn’t have a headstone yet as it was still on order and the grass had not grown back.  But there, on the patchy grass, laying face down, was the picture my mom lost.  It was perfect, not damaged by any of the stormy weekend weather.  Mom showed up at my door in tears.  That night I watched Ghost and I cried and cried.  I fell asleep and then my Dad came to me and told me It will be okay sis.  Celebrate.  I have a grandson.  You can be sure the very next day I went to the cemetery and saw my Dad.

We I get going so fast sometimes, worried that everything has to happen immediately.  Go Go Go!  Well, this year, 2012, I intend to slow down and celebrate. 

Celebrate

  • waking up every morning
  • a husband of almost 31 years
  • a son who is awesome and kind hearted
  • 2 brothers
  • sis-in-laws who are my sisters
  • nieces and nephews
  • my health, my hubby’s health, my son’s health
  • a roof over my head
  • laughter, especially laughing at myself
  • humility
  • sadness
  • the anticipation
  • birthdays
  • giving time to others
  • being  a good set of ears
  • sacrifice
  • hard work
  • a blooming flower
  • green grass
  • a baby’s smile
  • freedom

I forgot too soon that’s how my Dad carried himself for 81 years; celebrating successes, learning from failure, respecting all people, all religions, giving to others, laughing, having a whiskey sour for every Packer touchdown, growing a beautiful bountiful garden, writing poetry, making sure his family was well card for.  He celebrated life and this year I want to make sure I celebrate life every day too.

Thank you Daddy.  Love you.

sis

2 responses to “My 2012 Word – CELEBRATE

  1. This is beautifully written and such a neat tribute to your dad. I love your chosen word and how you want celebrate all the meaningful things in your life. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

