Penny Roof Birdhouse

Everyone have a good weekend?  The weather was still a bit cold and windy to spend much time outside, the grocery shopping was done and the house was clean.  It was one of those weekends to putter so I went to the craft closet to see what I could do and not spend a dime.

I have a big basket of wood pieces that I’ve slowly been whittling away at.  Not too long ago, I shared my button boxes which was another small project I was able to complete with items I had at home already.  Today, I want to share with you my Penny Roof Birdhouse.

019-3

As I said before I have a big basket of wood objects so not yet knowing what I was going to do I just primed a bunch of birdhouses and a few candlesticks. Then I decided on the birdhouse on stilts.

001 001-1

I used some copper metal spray paint, ACE brand was on my garage shelf.  I covered the roof in pennies. Here’s a bit of a look at the roof.  The left side is still bare of the pennies and the other side still needs a layer but you get the idea, right?

005-1

I added 3 layers of pennies to the roof, then used a blacker painter pen to color the eves.  I also found an old scarf ring in a bowl full of old jewelry, took out the crossbar, sprayed it with the copper color and used the black painter pen again to add some lines to it.

001-1 019-2

Here’s some more pics…

018

020-1 

019-3

Happy Monday all!  Did you do any crafting over the weekend?

-renee

linking up to the following parties this week…

Movated Monday @ Be Colorfull

Metaphorphosis Monday @ Between Naps On The Porch

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

Tip Junkie

Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage

Katherines Corner

Serenity Now

TT & J

3 responses to “Penny Roof Birdhouse

  1. Oh. SO adorable! I see those bird houses at the craft stores all the time for dirt cheap. Have never given them a second thought….until now! Next time I’m out and about, I’m going to pick up a couple and see what I can do!
    Thanks for the inspiration!!

  2. love projects like this that give new life to boring and weary pieces i never would have thought of using pennies and i am so glad you did and shared this on Becolorful Stellar!
    pam

Leave a Reply

