Decorated Bird Boxes

Hi all!  Happy Monday.  The best fun for me is when I make something for something else.  It makes me feel good. I decorated a couple of boxes not too long ago for my friend P’s birthday and shipped them off to New Jersey.

014-1

There were a lot of simple steps so it took some time but very easy to do.  I probably should of taken a picture of the plain wood boxes, but I didn’t.  Take a look at this post on some button boxes I did to see what they look like unfinished.

Here are the steps:

  1. use some sandpaper to smooth the rough edges
  2. paint with an acrylic paint of your choice.  I used a soft blue and painted both the inside and out.  I used 2 coats.
  3. Then I sanded down the outside  just a little so a tiny tiny bit of the wood could peek through in places. 
  4. Cut scrapbook paper the size of the box tops and glue with decopauge.  Follow up with 2 or 3 layers of decopauge, letting dry between each coat.
  5. Spray boxes with a clear sealer
  6. The final touch is grabbing the hot glue gun and adding some lace

011

016-2 I like these so much I’m going to make some for me. They will look adorable stacked on a dresser for spring and summer. Do you do any decopauging?

-renee

Linking up to these parties this week.

Movated Monday @ Be Colorfull

Metaphorphosis Monday @ Between Naps On The Porch

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

Tip Junkie

Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage

Katherines Corner

Serenity Now

TT & J

4 responses to “Decorated Bird Boxes

  1. BEA-U-TI-FUL!!! My church is having a little yard sale and “boutique” in a couple of weeks (which I’m in charge of!) and I think I’ll make a couple of these for that! I’ve wanted to try it ever since I saw your button boxes!

  2. Looks very sweet. Great design idea

Leave a Reply

