Spring Craft – Birdhouse Bookends + Stands

I’m so glad winter is over, at least according to the calendar.  Here in the Seattle area there still is the occasional snow/rain/hail storms.  This weekends weather forecast indicates  conditions will improve.  That means clear skies and a little sun.

The girls of blogland ( no reality intended, but it does sound like a TV series, lol).  Anyway,  Layla, Kate, Rhoda, and Sarah are having a Spring Fling party.  If you missed the Monday get-together you really need to check back and see the mantel party Layla hosted HERE because you will find plenty of inspiring ideas, including my very own.

image

Kate is hosting today’s Spring crafts par-tay.  I’m on a “what can I craft and not spend any money” kick, aka what is sitting in my house stashed in a corner or in the crap craft closet.  I found a box of wood items the other day and ended up just spray painting primer on them for future use.

001 (2)

Today I’m sharing a few things I did with the birdhouses and all you need besides them is spray paint, gorilla glue, tiles and time, all of which I had on hand.

I took some square tiles, 2 sizes,  from a bathroom project, and glued one on top of the other, then glued a birdhouse on top.  I spray painted it glossy white.  If you make two of them, then you can use them as bookends!

003-1

Since I was on a spray paint and glue roll, I also gave two wooden candle holders and two more birdhouses some color.  Add some glue to stick them together and you have some decorative birdhouse stands which eventually, when the weather gets warmer, will move to the front porch.

013-1

I replaced some of the darker accessories with white and yellow and gave my bookshelves a fresh Spring look.

002 001

005

008

009-1

010-1

012 011-1

I’m always amazed at what a few simple changes can do to put a “Spring” in my step!  Have you done your Spring decorating yet?

-renee

2 responses to “Spring Craft – Birdhouse Bookends + Stands

  1. Oh, girl..those bookshelves are gorgeous! I already said I was going to get some birdhouses when I saw the one you “roofed” with pennies! Oh, but I do want to ask you…..on those wooden boxes you’ve dressed up, where did you get them? I went to JoAnn’s the other day and couldn’t find anything as cute as yours. They were just ….well…..boxes!

    • Thanks! I like the book shelves too buy really wish they were white. That’s a losing battle with the hubby. I found my boxes at Michaels; all shapes and sizes.

Leave a Reply

