White Dresser Updated with DUCT TAPE!

Happy Monday!  How was your weekend?  The sun was out in Seattle and that meant a few nice walks and some much needed yard work.  It was so nice to open the windows and have some fresh air come in.  I also got on a spray paint kick and put out some Easter decorations.  I’ll be sharing more later this week.

Saturday morning I was picking up my woman “cave” or to be more exact, the room I call my craft/reading/office/guest room.  The room became this last September and was pretty much done on the buy little, by cheap and use what you got kind of room. I abide by this theory a lot because I know me.  Lots of folks live in an undecorated area for a while to get the vibe of the room and to understand how to furnish, paint, etc. it.  Me, I find I guess at what I want, try it for a while and then end up changing it after I live with it.

If you want to read about the initial redo of the room check Here.  Since then, I have moved the furniture around, added shelves, changed the location of pictures, repainted a few things and on Saturday, gave the white dresser a new look.  I have been wanting to paint the dresser, but I wasn’t sure what direction I wanted to go.  Back when I painted the fireplace wall black I first put up black scrapbook paper to see what it would look like.  See what I mean that I need to live with it to feel it? 

Okay, back to the white dresser.  I took decorative duct tape and applied it to the front of the white dresser drawers.

004-2 

I took the drawer handles off and applied the duct tape strip by strip.  Then I poked the through the tape to open the whole and put the pulls back on.  A 30 minute project.  That’s it and I like it!  Here’s a before and after.

Craft Room 006-1  004-1

and some more pictures…

014 016 

012-1 

015

013-1 016

Duct Tape…who would of thunk it?

-renee

Linking up the following parties…

Movated Monday @ Be Colorfull

Metaphorphosis Monday @ Between Naps On The Porch

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

Tip Junkie

Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage

Katherines Corner

Serenity Now

TT & J

http://www.craftytexasgirls.com/

12 responses to “White Dresser Updated with DUCT TAPE!

  1. Love the dresser!!!!!

  2. I love to see creative projects! Visiting from Home Stories A to Z.

    Hope you’ll share it at my party. It is a linked linky party, so post once and your project appears on 4 great blogs! Stop by- the party goes live on Monday at 9pm each week.

    I know your duct tape dresser will be a hit! 🙂 Samantha
    craftytexasgirls.com

  3. Samantha, I linked up. Thanks for the invite.

  4. Oh my…what a fun, simple, inexpensive … and I’m sure durable … upgrade. If you’d like another place to share it I’m hosting a link party today with a few fellow bloggers. It’s all about the easy peasy, super simple tips and projects. I’d be great to see you linked up. 🙂
    http://thespacebetweenblog.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/diy-spring-wreath-painted-with-seaglass-and-driftwood/
    Karah

  5. What a BRILLIANT idea!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
    Barbara at Chase the Star

  6. I was so impressed with your duct tape embellished dresser that I featured it today on this week’s Motivated Monday at BeColorful
    pam

  7. Pingback: Renovation Restoration Creation: Tutes & Tips Not to Miss {53} | Home Stories A to Z

  8. Didn’t know duct tape even came in a pattern. Very unique.

    • Hi Kim – Yes, Duct Tape now comes in lots of colors and patterns including a zebra stripe and a turquoise flower pattern. I usually find it at Michals, ACE Hardware or Home Depot. Thanks for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

