Chevron Stripe Painted Chair

I’ve been playing in spare room again.  If you’ve read any of my previous posts, when I decorate I start slow and change my mind and change it up after I live in it for a bit.

Today’s post is about a chair. I’m pretty proud of this because I’ve never done anything like this before.  In fact, I free handed the Chevron stripe, no measurements for accuracy of length or width,  so it’s a bit abstract.  But I like it!

064-003

It originally was an old kitchen chair my neighbor gave me.  When I updates the spare/craft/guest room last September I painted it just plain ole turquoise.  Here’s the befores and after…

Chevron Chair 3-25-12

Here’s the low down.  I first got my trusty blue tape and eyeballed where I would make the stripes.  I also added a few random stripes to the back of it.

Taped 1 Taped 2

I used Rust Oleum’s glossy black and added 2 coats, taking the tape off while the chair was still wet.  A Saturday afternoon, that’s all it took.  Here’s a few more pictures.

068 080

069

I also took a picture of my new chair next to the dresser I updated with duct tape HERE.

070-001

064-003

Have you been painting any furniture lately?

-renee

Linking up to the following this week

Movated Monday @ Be Colorfull

Metaphorphosis Monday @ Between Naps On The Porch

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

Tip Junkie

Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage

Katherines Corner

Serenity Now

TT & J

http://www.craftytexasgirls.com/

http://thriftydecorchick.blogspot.com/

http://www.notjustahousewife.net/

http://www.houseofhepworths.com/

9 responses to “Chevron Stripe Painted Chair

  1. This is an awesome idea for a cute craft room chair! Thanks for sharing! -Jessica

  2. Chevron just makes me happy. 😀 These images are great. What a fun project. So glad you shared it on BeColorful this week.
    pam

  3. Very cute. Nice way to update an old chair.

  4. Beautiful work. Can’t help but love chevron!

    I’d love if you would share this on Thingamajig Thursday going on now… http://radcrafter.com/2012/04/thingamajig-thursday-20/

    Alida

Leave a Reply

