A Trick [NOT] and Bunnies

How was everyone’s weekend?  Did you get tricked or fooled?  I wish I got tricked, but it was real.  Saturday night after midnight, so yes, that means April 1, my hubby was in bed nursing a horrible cold and I was downstairs watching a movie.  Do you know the sound of a smoke alarm when the battery goes out?  It goes beep, beep, beep.  Well, this was a blood curling continuous scream.  I grabbed a chair to stand on and pulled the smoke alarm lid it from the ceiling.  My hubby came downstairs all fuzzy wanting to know what is going on.  The air  smelled like hair burning, no smoke.  We spent the next 30 minutes walking around the entire house, checking every corner, every heating vent, etc. and could not find a thing.  By this time, it had subsided and oh by the way, I didn’t get to see the end of my movie.

Fast forward to 7:30 Sunday morning.  The heat didn’t kick in and the pilot light in the furnace did not come on.  That’s not uncommon this time of year if we were having our normal weather but we have been having cold, rainy, ugly weather.  Hubs went off to work and I proceeded to stay cold as it was 63 degrees in our house.  I called our fix-it guy and because we’re on the preferred plan, there wasn’t any extra cost for a Sunday call.  They said they would be here at 10:30.  Perfect, that would give me time to run to the store and for Divot and I to go for a walk….NOT!

I started smelling the hair burning smell again, switched the heat to off on the controller and called hubs.  He said just do it so I did.  I called 911 and asked for the fire department non-alarm assistance.  I thought they would just drive their little service truck here, but instead here comes the big fire truck, all lights flashing.  Two hunks get out in full gear, carrying their axes, etc.  I was wondering how many neighbors we’re watching from behind their curtains. HA!  They checked using their scanner all through the house for an electrical fire in the walls but didn’t  find anything.  I wasn’t crazy though.  They smelled it too and told me I was  smart to call them and not take any chances.  YES! 

My fire guys left and shortly after the nice Beacon man came.  Well, lets say he was nice until he told me the furnace needed a new motor and the smell was the current motor on slow burnout and sit was ucking the filter into it.  Then he said $800.00, I wrote the check and he’s coming back with the motor today.  Not a trick, a real bad dream.

I think I’d rather think of Easter bunnies, all kinds of bunnies, wouldn’t you?

047 049

052 036

045

037

038 040

Did you get tricked?  Happy Monday!

-renee

Leave a Reply

