DIY – Candy Jar

One of my favorite co-workers is leaving our group to take on another job with the company.  Over the last year I’ve enjoyed having her occupy the office next to me.  I wanted to send her off with something fun and inexpensive.  She is always asking me if I have any gum so that’s how I came up with the candy jar.

Candy jar

All you need is:

  • empty jar with an opening big enough for a hand to fit through (I used a large pickle jar)
  • spray paint: a color of your choice and chalkboard paint
  • rubber band or ponytail band
  • ribbon
  • cardboard or some type of label
  • chalk
  • candy, gum, etc. of your choice

Remove paper label from the empty jar and wash thoroughly.  Spray paint the lid color of your choice.  I used Rust Oleum silver metallic.  Make a label a size of your choice out of cardboard and spray with chalkboard paint.  Fill the jar with the candy and gum.  Punch a hole in the label and loop a rubber band through it and then around the circumference of the jar opening.  I used a unused colored ponytail holder.  I also fed the ribbon through the punched label hole and tied a bow.  Use the chalk to label the jar.

Simple to make and it will look adorable sitting on my co-workers desk.

Candy jar backside 012

The thought initially was Pinterest inspired when I pinned this pic by One Young Love onto my Organization board.

Pinned Image

I’m also thinking if I had a child still in elementary school filling small jelly jars with pens, pencils, jelly beans, etc., would make adorable end-of-the-year teacher gifts.

How have you reused jars besides pouring the fat from fried hamburger in them?

-renee

I may be linking up to a few of my favorite parties this week…

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style, Tip Junkie, Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage, Katherines Corner, Serenity Now

TT & J, http://www.craftytexasgirls.com/, http://thriftydecorchick.blogspot.com/

http://www.notjustahousewife.net/, http://www.houseofhepworths.com/

6 responses to “DIY – Candy Jar

  1. What a great idea for your friend ~ lovely creative gift ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  2. hi renee! found your link thru katherine’s blog hop. 🙂 such a nice sweet gift. i’m sure your coworker will appreciate it. i did a post before on some DIY ideas to jazz up jars: http://www.icingandwrite.com/2012/03/jazzed-up-jars.html. it’s a great creative project! 🙂

    xx
    aizzing

    • aizzing –
      thanks for stopping by and I checked out your link. I remember the candles from jars on Pinterest. I might of even pinned it. Love it. I understand why you like the memory jar. What a sweet idea.

  3. This is doable for me, but there would be one problem. It would never stay full! Thanks for sharing.
    Coming to you from Katherine’s Favorite Things Blog Hop.

    Danielle from Royalegacy

  4. Katherines Corner

    Sweet! xo Thank you for linking to the Thursday Favorite Things hop I hope you have a weekend filled with happy!

Leave a Reply

