DIY – Silver Shells

Is it possible to inhale too much spray paint?  Can it become dangerous?  I’m asking because I have been on a spray paint madness lately.  I’m surprised the puppy isn’t purple or pink or green and white striped yet!  That’s a joke.

Today, I wanted to share…

DIY - Silver shells

When the weather is nice or there’s a low tide you can usually find hubby, Divot and I at the beach.  The last time I was there I picked up a few shells and them I picked up some Krylon Chrome Aluminum spray.  The starfish came from Michaels.  I didn’t have the heart to kill a starfish that was still alive when hubby found it in the water.  I soaked the shells in a combination of bleach and water.  The next step was to give them a shot of the silver spray.  If you plan on doing this make sure you use primer first.  I didn’t and the silver was very flaky and I had to spray primer over it and start over.  I also put a acrylic sealant on as a last coat.

Shells original

Shells1

Starfish Focus

The filler is a combination of 2 sizes of aqua blue and green glass that I used at Christmas.  The bowl, I love this bowl, is not expensive, a Marshalls purchase for $12,99.  But, I love it, love the lines, it was made in Portugal and I bought it for myself for my birthday.

Bowl 1

Bowl 2

Bowl 3

DIY - Silver shells

Have you been to the beach lately?  What have you brought home?

-renee

I mat be linking up to the following:

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style, Tip Junkie, Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage, Katherines Corner, Serenity Now

TT & J, http://www.craftytexasgirls.com/, http://thriftydecorchick.blogspot.com/

http://www.notjustahousewife.net/, http://www.houseofhepworths.com/

Leave a Reply

