Tray with Reversible Liner

Hello people!  The weekend was soooooo rainy and housework was not sounding like it would cure the creative itch I was having.  Out to the garage I went for a look at the opportunities that lurked.  On the shelf was this old wood tray.  Back in April we had our city wide garage sale and at the end of the weekend the city offered free pick-up for all items left on the curb.  My neighbor pal Sharon and I went curb diving.  That’s where I found an old icky looking flower urn and I rescued it and made it fab.  I also picked this wood tray up from the curb.

Brown Tray

I disinfected in with some wipes and Simple Green.  Then I went to my “Rust Oleum library”, and grabbed the oil based spray primer and the gloss white.  A couple of coats of each and some acrylic spray to seal had it looking like this.

White Tray

Now here’s the fun part.  I always save cardboard because ya just never know.  I had a piece that was the back of a large desk top calendar so I cut it to fit the inside of the tray.  I also have multiple rolls of contact paper so I picked 2 patterns, applying one to each side and then using my glue gun, added ribbon.

Black White Toille Liner

Green Flower Liner Green Liner w Ribbon

Here’s the final product.

DIY tray

Here it is one more time…collage style.

Tray Collage

Do you recognize either one of the contact paper designs?  Check out the green floral here in my DIY porch table update and the black and white toile in my mirror boxes post.

This tray is definitely cheap, definitely easy and definitely versatile!  Do you have trays around your house?

-renee

Joining a few linky parties this week.

Motivated Monday

Between Naps On The Porch

Wow Us Wednesday @ Savvy Southern Style

Tip Junkie

Home Stories A to Z

Shabby Creek Cottage

One response to “Tray with Reversible Liner

Leave a Reply

