Painting A Welcome Sign

The time is going way to fast.  The weather has just recently started to become a enter the hold pattern of sunny days and that makes me ever so happy.  The last couple of weeks I’ve been updating the laundry room; paint, new rugs, organize cupboards, etc.  I’m hoping to share it in it’s finished stage later this week.

A laundry rooms should be happy, right?  After all, how much do we ladies spend in there?  Since young son left for college I do much less wash and clothes folding.  We almost always  but we normally enter and leave through the garage and so does everyone else.   I decided to fill the walls  with bright and cheery items and only if they make me smile.  Like this:

1-Welcome Sign Painted Letters 2012-08-12

My son, the senior-to-be in college,  took a wood shop class in in his junior year of high school.  One of his projects was a welcome sign.  He took a piece of wood and sanded it down in areas on the board so the letters were raised.  It’s not accurate, the letters are thin in some places, thick in others.  Some of the letters are a bit crooked.  That’s what I love about this sign.  It has character.  It looked like this in the beginning:

Welcome Before

I used white primer and gloss white spray paint from Rustoleum to make it all white.  Then I grabbed my jar full of painter pens.  I made each letter a different color and pattern.  For instance, the W is filled with Xs and the O is full of circles.  I thought about making every letter solid and who knows I may change it later, but for know I really like it.  I’m excited to hang it on the wall.

Welcome Sign Painted Letters 2012-08-12

I love projects that are simple and quick and have a memory.  What about you?  Do you have projects or crafts that you’ve done that fit this description?

-renee

2 responses to “Painting A Welcome Sign

  1. Its time for Shady Pines, Renee.

Leave a Reply

