The {Apple} Crisp Is Back!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving with family and friends and wore your most comfortable pair of pants!  My son stayed in Florida and celebrated with friends.  He was here the first part of November to be an usher at my nieces wedding and he’ll be here at Christmas for a long stay.  We went to my brother and sis-in-laws and we brought the apple crisp.  This is a recipe from a children’s Betty Crocker Cookbook my mom gave me when I was a child myself and it’s the only recipe I’ve ever used.

I first posted about apple crisp a couple of years ago and I posted without pictures so I’ve included this time.  If your looking for low calories then don’t try this!

Apple Crisp Close Up 1

In a 9 X 13 baking dish, core, peel and slice 8 cups of apples.

Sprinkle with a mixture of 1/4 cup water, 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon salt.

Using a pastry blender , mix together until crumbly 1 cup sugar, 3/4 cup sifted flour, and 1/3 cup of butter.  Spread crumb mixture evenly over the apples. Tip: a knife and fork to cut and mix works well too.

Bake for 40 minutes at 350.  Serve warm with vanilla ice cream, cool whip or whip cream.

My changes – I doubles the cinnamon mixture and the crumb mixture because that’s how my hubby likes it.  I do similar doubling on my Overnight French Toast.

I never make 1 pan, always 2.  Everyone seems to like it.  I hope you do to.

In the Bowl 1

 -renee

Leave a Reply

