Chocolate Mousse

How was everyone’s Christmas?  Ours was pretty low key.  We celebrated with my family on the 22nd so it was just the 3 of us for Christmas day.  Christmas Eve day our flatscreen TV in the family room called it quits.  Perfect timing, right?  Maybe it was.  We still have the small TV in the loft, but ended up taking naps, listening to Christmas music and playing rummy.  Lot’s of rummy and I am the standing winner in our house.  We also had a delicious dinner with our favorite, prime rib.  We’ve been scouting around for good prices and will get a new TV soon, but installation may take longer, as we will need to hire an installer to help mount it on the wall.  I’m guessing with Christmas just over the wait time may be a bit longer but we’ll see.

It was nice to have the entire family this year and know that no one had to leave for an expected visit to Grandparents, in-laws, etc.  This year, 2012, both my nieces got married and my nephew bought a house that he and his steady girlfriend are living in.  I was in charge of the dessert so I made Chocolate Mousse.  This recipe was given to me by a friend at work whose brother was a chef at this Seattle restaurant.  I’m not mentioning the business because I don’t want top get anyone in trouble.  But I will tell you this mousse is light and creamy and oh so good.  You must try it.  Prep time is about 30 minutes.  The longest pat of it is whipping the cream.  The picture does not do it justice, AT ALL!  I doubled the recipe for our 14 and there was very little left.

Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients

· 8 oz. pkg. cream cheese, softened

· 1/2 cup cocoa powder (I used Ghiradelli sweet ground chocolate and cocoa)

· 1 cup powdered sugar

· 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

· 1-1/2 cups heavy cream

Preparation:

1. In large bowl, combine cream cheese and cocoa. Beat well until smooth and fluffy.

2. Add powdered sugar and vanilla and beat until smooth.

3. In medium bowl, beat heavy cream until stiff peaks form; fold into chocolate cream cheese mixture.

4. Chill before serving.

5. Enjoy!

Hope you enjoy and have a great 2012 day.  There are only a few left!

-renee

Leave a Reply

