My 2012 Goals–How Did I Do?

With one day left in 2012, here’s how I did on my goals.

MY 2012 GOALS

Strive to be Healthier

  • I just need to get back on track. It’s a fact, I’m not getting any younger. Since May, 2011, I had I worked really hard and was really self disciplined. It helped my husband was also dieting, oops I mean striving to be healthier. I lost 30 pounds. Notice the past tense because I’ve gained 6 back by just plain eating too much in December. But it was fun! Now I have 36 to lose and if I do I will be one happy camper. Can you say “Good-bye carbohydrates”!

Why is it so hard sometimes to put ourselves first.  Is that a female trait.  Anyways, I’ll come out of the holiday season having still lost 15 of the 30.  I obviously have some work to do next year.  The good thing is I’m getting more exercise.

  • I also must sleep more. I get by on the 3-4 hours a night but I know I need more and I would be much healthier for it. It was someone like Dr. Oz or The Doctors who said belly fat can be caused by getting too little sleep. Ahhhh, I will definitely sleep better knowing that! Giggle!

I’m giving myself a F.  A big Fail.  I still need to work on getting more sleep.

Work Hard, Play Hard – What I’m trying to say is I need to focus on and stay present in the moment I am in. Does that make sense? If I’m at work, then work. If I’m at dinner with my hubby enjoy the conversation and stay off the phone. Those are a few examples. We’ll see how it turns out at the end of the year.

I’ve made some improvements in this area.  I’ve been really focused on not bringing work home unless absolutely necessary and I put together a very loose schedule for blogging that I ‘m hoping to improve.

Read more Books – I used to read all the time and now I find I’m always on the computer. My hubby always likes it when I start reading a book because time stops and I don’t do anything else. He likes it when I relax.

Sadly I did not get any novels read, but I did browse through several decorator books.  Does that count?  I also have been getting 26 magazines a month.  It’s a long story.  I’ll share that sometime soon.

Design and Grow a Herb Garden

I didn’t do a herb garden but I did do a 3-Tier Herb Planter.

Side view

Put Pinterest to Use by taking one idea a month from it and executing on it.

Yes, I did do a few of these.  Check out  these projects and recipes inspired by Pinterest.  In the words of Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman, “Woot, Woot!”  See    painted pinecones, pineapple chicken, painter pen doodle lamp, and valentine wreath.

Become A Better Blogger – I just need to slow down, breathe, and take the time to understand what I’m doing.

I still need to slow down, breathe and take time to understand what I’m doing. Ha!  But seriously, in 2013, more specifically in January 2013 I really need to do a post to say thanks to those bloggers who always take the time to answer my {stupid} questions!

Spend more time in the living room – We are always in the family room. I keep saying I want to update the living room but I think I need to first just spend some time in there .

Better, yes better, but still want to spend more time.

DIYs

v Paint the front door and garage trim black.  Did not get this complete.  There is spring/summer 2013.  Let’s cross our fingers.

v Laundry room needs painting Completed.  See hereI still want to work on some extra storage space and accessorizing. 

v The loft needs an update, a more lived in look .  Hoping this gets completed in 2013.  I did hang some pictures, but that’s about it.

v Look at enclosing the front porch .  I looked and now I have an idea of cost.  That’s as far as I’ve gotten.

v Paint the baseboard trim inside YES!  I’ve completed all but 3 rooms.  I feel like I accomplished lots.

v New living room curtains Not only did we get new curtains for both the living and dining rooms, we also painted both and I did a few DIY projects for them.

We also painted our master bedroom and master bath.

I would of liked to accomplish more but when I look back and think I was in therapy for a shattered wrist for half the year, July was pretty mush take up with family celebrations and my husband was in the hospital, I am fairly pleased.

What about you?  Did you accomplish what you wanted to in 2012?  Do you have big plans for 2013?

-renee

Leave a Reply

