Recipe – Frozen Whipped Cream Drops

It’s been chilly around the Northwest.  We’ve been waking up to 28 degrees.  Now, for some, that may not seem that cold.  My definition of cold is when I have to turn the car seat warmers on and the portable heater in my office at work. I’ve also been nursing a cold so today was the perfect day to have some hot chocolate with some frozen whipped cream drops.

Signage

I can’t take all the credit.  I didn’t make this up but I sure hopped on board quickly after see this recipe in the January issue of Good Housekeeping.  A reader, Alison Bickel, from Gretna, NE sent the idea in and I totally hopped on board.

When I made my Chocolate Mousse during the holiday I had plenty of heavy whipped cream left over.  And this was so simple.

Ingredients

Whipped close up

Beat 2 cups of heavy whipped cream until soft peaks form.  Add 2 tablespoons powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla, then beat again until stiff peaks are formed.

on tray

Fill a pastry bag with the whip cream.  Pick a pastry tip you like.  I used a star tip.  Squeeze small drops, about the circumference of a half dollar, onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment or waxed paper.  Pop the cookie sheet into the freezer for about 3 hours so the drops can set.  Place in an airtight container in the freezer.  They should last for approximately a month. If I make them again I will add a tiny bit more vanilla because I like vanilla.

Aren’t they cute?  They also work well in my morning coffee.

Coffee and Cream Drops

I’m thinking they would be great on warm apple pie or apple crisp.  Or maybe peppermint or almond flavoring.  Yum.  Anyways, I know I’ll keep making them.

Hot Choc and Cream Drops

Do you have any whipped cream in your fridge.  What are you making?

-renee

2 responses to “Recipe – Frozen Whipped Cream Drops

  1. What a great idea to use up leftover whipped cream. I always force myself to eat up the rest on some fruit (such a sacrifice).

    I didn’t see an email address attached to your comment so I’m writing my reply here. We are both Scottish, but way, way back. My husband got his doctorate in English literature and he has to use the archives in Edinburgh that have the letters he needs for this next book he is writing. It is an academic book about a 19th century periodical (all scholarly stuff that would make your eyes glaze over). By the way, where is Brechan? Have you been over to Scotland? I haven’t been since I was a child and we were traveling as a family. I would love to go back, but my husband goes over to do research when the flights and apartments are cheap – like in January – and I have to work. One of these years I’ll go with him.

    • Grace – I’ll e-mail you about my 3 week trip to Scotland. My brother and I traced some of our heritage and it was wonderful. Brechin (I spelled incorrectly before) is about a 2 hour drive from Edinburgh. renee

Leave a Reply

