Chicken & Cabbage

If I were put on a desert island and told I could bring one meal and ice cream wasn’t available I’d choose sauté cabbage and chicken.

named plated

I’ve been making this forever and truly, I could pretty much eat it every night and not mind at all.  Its low in carbs, high in protein and quick to make.  The only thing is you’ve got to like cabbage.

Shred two medium heads of cabbage.

cabbage headsshredded

Heat a little bit of olive oil and a pat of butter in a pan until hot.  Add the shredded cabbage.  Keep the pan around medium heat.  I usually add a little bit of garlic salt.  Keep turning until the cabbage turns soft and starts turning brown.

in the pan

Cook boneless skinless chicken breasts.  I use a  George Foreman; quick, easy, healthy.  Season with whatever you like.

Chicken

Slice the chicken in strips and serve over the cabbage.  I’m telling you, try it.  I bet you will like it.  I have my son hooked on it.  And I always cook to much so I have a little extra to have the next day.

plated

Do you have a favorite meal that you’d take to a desert island?

-renee

2 responses to “Chicken & Cabbage

  1. Would never have thought of this together! Great idea! And colorful and healthy:)

  2. A favorite meal on a desert island….cool guacamole salad. Love avocado!

Leave a Reply

