{Faux} Tile Table Top

Yeah, it’s hump day!  Better known as Wednesday, but it’s a day that I am taking off of work so I’m loving it!

A few weeks back I picked up a 3-drawer side table at the Goodwill for $9.99.  I think it’s an Ikea or Scan Design type.  It’s the lighter/blond wood, 3 drawer with the frosted glass centers.  Do you know what I’m talking about?

DIY Table Improve

Anyway, I’ve been using a 3 drawer Rubbermaid tote to corral my make-up and personal items in our bathroom and thought this would be the perfect replacement.   Especially for the price and I didn’t even mind the wood.  I had no plans to change it, just clean it up and put it to use.  There was one small water spot on the top and I thought I might be able to just remove that with a Mr. Clean sponge.  It didn’t work  Sad smile  and I didn’t take a picture of it so you’ll have to trust me.  I lightly sanded the top and added two coats of white primer and no, I didn’t take a picture of that.  When it dried, we brought it up to my craft room and it sat for a couple of days while I pondered on what I wanted to do.

Grout-paper squares

Are you thinking I tiled the top?  Nope, what you are looking at is scrapbook paper that I cut into squares.  The white lines that appear to look like grout is the white primer.  Can you believe it?  I .love simple projects.  This one was as easy as my duct tape dresser which has been flying around Pinterest.

I first cut 4×4 squares and placed them, then trimmed where I needed to.

DIY Primer and Paper

I used glossy Mod Podge to glue the paper on and let that sit for a couple of hours.  I used a roller to make sure all the bubbles were out and the paper dried flat.  Over the course of 3 days I added 10 coats of glossy Mod Podge to the top of the paper, making sure the glue dried between coats.  It really did turn out to look like tiles.

Top Finished

Top View 2 530

Have you done anything like this using scrapbook paper?

-renee

I’m linking this simple project to Monday Funday, Wow Us Wednesday, Tutorials and Tips Tuesday, and House of Hepworths,

One response to “{Faux} Tile Table Top

  1. That is a beautiful shade of blue. And I so admire people who can do these things!

Leave a Reply

