Ribbon Tape Decorated Pots

Here’s the question.  What would you do with $20.00, a rainy bleak and dreary day, and a craft store coupon?  Head to Michaels, right?  And that’s what I did.  I decided I needed to add a bit color to my family room bookshelf.

Michaels doesn’t carry washi tape per say.  They call it ribbon tape so I picked some up using my 40% off regular price coupon.  I also picked up 2 faux herb pots. (Sorry about the pic.  Cell phone + gray day is not a good combo).

2 Before

tape

I first tried to surround one of the pots with some small square mirrors I already had.  I used gorilla glue to adhere them to the four sides.  It was a total bomb.  The shape of the pot wasn’t square so there were big gaps in between the mirrors . It looked totally ugly and because the glue is so good, I tried, but the mirrors were there to stay.  Ribbon tape to the rescue.  I just covered the mirrors with it.  I used 2 different tapes for each pot and here’s how they turned out.

2 together

554

Pink 1

Pink 2 Pink 4

Black 1

Black 2 Black 3

The total cost was approximately $16.00.  That’s not counting the mirrors that I already had and wasted. I guess that’s not too bad when you need to add a bit of brightness on a gray rainy day in Seattle.

Do you ever just get the urge to just make something?  Do you normally have all your “ingredients” or do you need to run to the store?

Happy Monday!

-renee

Leave a Reply

