DIY–Spotted Vases

Happy Monday.  How was everyone’s weekend?  Ours was pretty low-key, but Thursday and Friday had a few “oh no’s” in them.  I’ll just be brief by saying I have a scary eye, I scratched it somehow and now it’s all red and we had our gutters cleaned and found out we have a hole in out roof.  We had a fairly good windstorm not too long ago and pulled a large branch from our second story.  There is already some water damage in the attic.  Thank goodness insurance covers it.  Now comes the fun part, getting a few bids.

Last week I told you about my get-together with my BFFs and the little journals and handmade bookmarks I gave each of them.    Kathy, Michele and Patty have also all had birthdays since the last time we were together and I made a little gift for each.

diy

I got this idea from Cassie at Hi Sugarplum when she did a project on confetti bud vases.  She used small vases and toothpicks to add acrylic paint.  I took a bit if a different route.

I picked my 3 small vases at the Goodwill for $1.00 each.  I ran then through the dishwasher to ensure they were clean.  Using oil base sharpie painter pens I made dots on the glass.  I turned them upside down and started with the base first.  Once you’re happy how they look pop them in a 325 degree oven for 30 minutes.  Do not preheat the oven.  This process sets the paint.

Ready to Bake

I added some colored rock in a baggie tied up with a ribbon.

close up 1 close up2close up 3inside

Once again, inexpensive, but from my heart and I think they like them.  Have you made any little gifts lately?

-renee

One response to “DIY–Spotted Vases

  1. I love the idea of the spotted vases using Sharpies and then bake them . I would have never thought of that. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

