Paper Backed Bookcases

Happy Monday all!  The weather has changed and let me just say sunshine makes me happy!  I’ve been on vacation since last Wednesday.  It was my birthday so I pampered myself with a manicure/pedicure and followed that up by re-staining the front porch bench.  The pedicure is still in tact, not so much the other.  Take note – remember to wear gloves {smirk}.  We went to Portland for a day shopping. I love that Oregon has no tax.  I also was able to accomplish a couple of projects .  I’m sharing one of those today, and will share more later this week.

I’ve been spending lots of time in the woman cave making it my own on a low cost budget.  In other words, use what I have and make it work.  I have two open bookcases that have been in practically every room in our house.  I bought them originally to show case my son’s sports trophies when he was growing up.  The trophies have since  found a place in the garage packed in Rubbermaid totes.  The bookcases are now in the woman cave.  I’ve thought about painting them but for now I’ve decided to leave the gray metal as is.  To give them an update and some contrast from the bright yellow walls I backed the bookcases with turquoise and white striped wrapping paper I found at Marshalls.

before 2 after 2

The process was pretty simple.  I used about 1 1/2 rolls of paper and  6  foam boards found at the Dollar store for $1.00 each.  You will also want a scalpel, scissors, spray adhesive,  and duct tape.

I cut the paper with scissors to fit each foam board,  then laid them out side by side on the bed to make sure the stripes in the wrapping paper lined up.  Once I was satisfied,  I used spray adhesive to adhere to the boards.  You might find you’ll need the scalpel to trim excess.  When I added the boards to the back of the bookcases I used duct tape to attach to the side posts and to each other.

steps collage

I’m happy how it turned out and the only cost other than the paper ($3.99 a roll) and foam boards ($1.00 each) was time.

before and after 1 to 4

close up 1 close up 2

close up 4

Do you ever craft with paper?  I’m joining Between Naps On The Porch, Monday Funday Link Party, Tutorial and Tip Tuesday.

Have a great Monday!
-renee

2 responses to “Paper Backed Bookcases

  1. Such a clever idea! It looks really pretty! I love the idea of a “woman cave”. Haha! We always hear “man cave”, but never “woman cave”. I guess I like to think of my whole house as my “woman cave”. LOL! My poor husband…I let him have the garage. That’s good enough, right? ;o)

  2. What a great idea to dress up shelves and at a bargain price. They turned out awesome!

Leave a Reply

