My “New” Old Desk

I’ve been MIA.  Last Friday I had arthroscopic surgery to repair a torn meniscus and I’ve been minding my Ps and Qs since then following Doctor orders.  It’s nice to be able to take a step without having a pain run through my leg.

Last week I shared my horse picture I found at a neighborhood  garage sale.  I also found a 1950’s writing desk and a 1900 depression glass lantern that was used in the mines north of my house.

New 1950 Desk

I fell in love with it at the garage sale on Saturday when I saw it but it was $175 and that was too high for me.  Everything was half price on Sunday and along with the horse picture, I got the 3 items for $50.00.    I had a corner in the family room that was perfect for this little beauty.

Full view no chair

When I brought it home it was pretty dirty and needed some TLC.

before

I wiped it down with a soft cloth to remove the dirt, then rubbed in some Rejuvenating Oil by Watco.  I waited 10 minutes, then buffed it out.  There are a few scratches, but it’s not my intent to paint it.  I just wanted to enhance it’s character.

After

Lets see the before and after side by side, shall we.

before After

We have a sub-woofer and I tried to hide it behind the desk and the cords behind the sub.  I was a bit more successful doing this when I added my recent DIY entry chair.

Full with chair

I also added the basket (picked up at another home sale for $1.00) and filled it with some blanket throws.

The depression glass lantern was a find.  It has the original wick and I love the color.

lantern 1

lantern 2 lantern 3

I added some  Readers Digests  (left to me by my Dad), and a white vase found at the good will for a few dollars.  Both are sitting in an orange tray I recently saved from the trash and spray painted.

close up 1 close up 5

close up 6

desk close up 3 close up 4

Pretty good for $50.00, right?  Have you picked up any garage sale finds lately?

-renee

Leave a Reply

