Salmon Salad with Grilled Vegetables

My neighbors, K and B were on vacation for a week and they asked if I would water the flowers and vegetable garden.  Of course!  That’s what neighbors are for.  They also said if any of the veggies need picking to go for it.  The zucchini was out of control so I picked 6 of them.

It was a hot night, one of those that require a quick light dinner.  Ever have those kind of days?  Salmon salad with grilled vegetables was the perfect answer.
full salad titled

Albertsons had  4 peppers for $5.00 dollars so I picked one up in every color; yellow, orange, red and green.  I love peppers.  I already had carrots.  Plus, my hubby had grilled salmon the night before and we had leftovers.

I sliced the peppers, zucchini and carrots and put them in a wire cage that I use on the BBQ.  I lined it with foil first.  I drizzled some olive oil on them and added some salt and pepper.  I gave it a good stir, then added a little sesame oil for extra taste.  I put them on the grill at medium heat for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
grilled veggies

Then it was just a matter of combining the grilled veggies and salmon with some romaine lettuce.  I added some grated parmesan.  The oil and seasonings from the veggies was enough seasoning for the romaine and the salmon was already seasoned when it was cooked the night before.

salad

salmon close up

My hubby is not a veggie lover but he fell for this salad and in fact, just told me he’d like to have it again.  That’s a sure sign of a good thing!

Speaking of salmon, take a look at what my neighbor caught on Saturday.  A 19 pound king salmon.  Yum, their saving some for our Labor Day neighborhood BBQ.  I’m looking forward to that!
Bob Batie Fisherman

Do you like salads?  What kind of combinations have you tried?  Do you like warm salads?

I’m joining  Tutorials and Tips at Home Stories A to Z.

-renee

Leave a Reply

