Organize and DIY Your Refrigerator with Placemats

Happy Friday!  Do you ever get an idea in your head and decide you need to do it right then and there, no matter what time it is?  Some of my closest friends think I’m hyper.  I prefer to define myself as I like to stay busy.

A few Friday nights ago the hubby had already gone to sleep and that’s when the refrigerator started bugging me.  Marinade from the steaks had spilled over, the catsup bottle was put away sticky and the milk was expired.  Ever experience this?

CLEAN IT

My spurt of energy began at midnight and by 1:00 a.m. my refrigerator was the bomb.  I tossed food and cleaned the fridge shelves and doors. My cleaner of choice for all things dirty is Krud Kutter.  L.O.V.E love it!  Then I came up with a marvelous idea.

MAKE IT PRETTY

I decided the red and blue checked July 4 placemats would do the trick to dress up the refrigerator shelves and also save them from future spills and disaster.  After all, the no stick shelf liner and contact paper came from the Dollar store so I wasn’t freaking out on cost.  If they get thrown out it won’t hurt my feelings.  You could also use the shelf liner without the contact paper protection, which is what I will do in the future if I have to replace the existing liners.

full refrig

I call the top shelf my healthy shelf.  Well, except for the mayonnaise.  But I don’t like mayo except when it’s mixed with other items for a dressing.  The yogurt and cottage cheese are good choices.  Although it contains sugar, my raspberry and strawberry jam are musts for me too!  It’s perfect with a toasted bagel and a little cream cheese.  Am I making you hungry yet?

top shelf red

I alternated the placemats between the red and blue and used some additional liner, cut to size, for the bins.  I won’t show you every shelf.  I’m sure you get the idea.  But here’s the bottom shelf that holds all kinds of drinks.

bottom shelf blue

This is a nice way to add some order to the refrigerator for a very small cost.  Who knows, maybe you’ll find an hour this weekend to tackle your own?  What do you do to organize your refrigerator?

I’m linking to a couple of blog parties; go check them out when you have a chance!  Tatortots and Jello and Serenity Now.

Have a great weekend!

-renee

2 responses to “Organize and DIY Your Refrigerator with Placemats

  1. I posted my refrigerator organization not too long ago, too! No bells and whistles like yours, just straight organization. Have a look! ~M. http://redesignedbym.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/reorganized-how-i-organized-my-refrigerator/

Leave a Reply

